TLC Board of Trustees Honors Outstanding Service

Rockville, MD—
TLC—The Treatment and Learning Centers’ Board of Trustees recognized outstanding service at the annual dinner on May 15.  TLC is a non-profit organization providing educational, vocational, and therapeutic services to children and adults with disabilities and typically developing children.  TLC’s Katherine Thomas School is a special education school for students with moderate to severe language and learning disabilities and/or high-functioning autism, preschool through 12th grade.

“Again this year as we recognize the extraordinary talent of TLC’s Board, staff and volunteers, I am reminded of how fortunate we are to have the commitment of this talented group of individuals dedicated to helping TLC further our mission to improve lives and expand possibilities for individuals with special needs,” said Patricia Ritter, Ph.D., executive director.

Benefactor of the Year was awarded to Peter and Susan Greif, parents of a KTS graduate. Their generosity has enabled TLC to offer increased scholarships and investigate additional early interventions for young children with autism and other special needs.

Bruce Hunter, Board president was honored the Rosemary Colston Award. Serving TLC since 2003 on the finance committee, then the executive committee as treasurer, vice president and now as president, Bruce’s commitment to TLC began as a result of his daughter Annabel’s experiences at KTS. “It has been said that the ideal board member is generous with his time, talent and treasure. Because Bruce truly meets these ideals, I am proud to recognize his outstanding contributions by giving him this most prestigious award,” stated Pat Ritter.

TLC’s Outcomes Service for adults with disabilities recognized Digital Receiver Technology as Employer of the Year.  Sue Hegg and Craig Heidemann were on hand to receive the award (see photo). DRT employs Outcomes’ consumer Luke, who has autism and began working at DRT in 2010.  “DRT truly goes above and beyond to ensure Luke is a valued member of their team, encouraging him to be happy, successful employee.” stated Patricia Ritter, Executive Director of TLC.

Volunteer of the Year was presented to attorney Mike Cogan, supporter of TLC since 2008, currently serving TLC through pro bono legal work. “We are enormously grateful to Mike for all that he has done and appreciate his outstanding volunteer commitment and service to TLC. We look forward to his continued contributions as the newest member of our board,” stated Bruce Hunter, President of TLC’s Board of Trustees.

Anne Kline received the Barry S. Scher Award for Public Relations.  A member of the Strategic Development Committee, Anne is crucial in helping expand TLC’s network, including bringing on her employer Revere Bank as a sponsor of our events.

The Richard J. Pavlin Leadership Award was presented to Karen Morgret, Assistant Director of TLC’s Outcomes Service. Karen excels at managing the operational aspects of Outcomes and is a certified CARF surveyor.  Pat Ritter stated, “I have worked closely with Karen for a long time, and I never doubt that she will do whatever needs to get done to make her department and the entire organization successful.”

The Teamwork Award acknowledged outstanding efforts of the Tactical Development Committee members Betty Anne Aschenbach, Karen Beveridge, Debra Lindsay, Melissa Pappas, Mary Rill, Peggy Strang, and Debbie Ezrin. This dynamic, newly developed team raised nearly $18,000 at their first event, TLC’s Fall Luncheon.